Nurturing the Young –

Innovation for Sustainability

Events and Activities


Date, time & venue 
2019-04-23;6:00pm;Chan Yat Mei Sophie Room – 9/F




NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the 40th Annual General Meeting of the Civil Division will be held on Tuesday, 23 April 2019 at 6:00pm at Chan Yat Mei Sophie Room, the HKIE Headquarters, 9/F Island Beverley, No 1 Great George Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, for the following purposes:


  1. To receive and confirm the Minutes of the 39th AGM.
  2. To receive and adopt the Annual Report of the Division for Session 2018/2019.
  3. To receive and adopt the Financial Statement of the Division for Session 2018/2019.
  4. To elect the Chairman and Ordinary Members of the Division Committee for Session 2019/2020.
  5. To conduct an election to fill the remaining term of the casual vacancy for the post of Council Member (Division).


In case of adjournment of the AGM, members of the Division shall check on the Institution’s website at and the Division’s website at of the revised venue, time and date for the adjourned AGM.


The 40th AGM will be followed by a Technical Seminar presented by Ir Jimmy CHAN Pai Ming JP, Director of Highways, the Government of the HKSAR.


Ir Michael FONG Hok Shing

Honorary Secretary

26 March 2019




Nominations for Division Chairman, Ordinary Members and Council Member (Division)


Division Chairman

The outgoing Division Committee has decided to nominate Ir Thomas LAU Ming Yu for election as the Chairman for Session 2019/2020.


Ordinary Members – under Clause 7.2(c) of the Division Rules

The outgoing Division Committee has decided to opt for the maximum of 14 Ordinary Members, and four Ordinary Members in the Committee shall retire by end of the Session, namely Ir Thomas LAU Ming Yu, Ir Aaron BOK Kwok Ming, Ir Sean CHEONG Chin Pang and Ir Alex LI Chun Fai.


Following the retirement of the above Ordinary Members, there are four vacancies for the Ordinary Members.


The Division Committee has decided to nominate the following four candidates for election as the Ordinary Members for a three-year term: Ir Alex LI Chun Fai, Ir Dr Fiona KWOK Chung Yee, Mr Samson PUNG Chun Nok and Ir Tim LEUNG Man Tim.


Ordinary Member – under Clause 7.2(d) of the Division Rules (i.e. Ordinary Member of the Committee who is of 35 years of age or below)

Ir Kenneth CHEUNG Kwan Wing shall retire by end of the Session.  Following the retirement of Ir Kenneth CHEUNG Kwan Wing, there is one vacancy for the Ordinary Member.  The Division Committee has decided to nominate Miss WANG Shanshan for the Ordinary Member for a three-year term.


Council Member (Division)


Due to the resignation of the incumbent Council Member (Division), Ir Aaron BOK Kwok Ming, the outgoing Division Committee has decided to nominate Ir Ian CHUNG Siu Ping for election as new Council Member (Division) for the remainder of the term left vacant (i.e. Session 2019/2020).


Any two Corporate Members of the Division may nominate in writing any duly qualified persons as Chairman or Ordinary Members of the Committee under Clause 7.2(c) and Clause 7.2(d) of the Division Rules or Council Member (Division).  Original copy of the nomination form signed by those making the nomination, together with the consent in writing of every candidate named therein to accept office, if elected, shall be forwarded to the Secretariat of the Institution, for the attention of the Honorary Secretary of Civil Division, no later than Tuesday, 9 April 2019.  Please mark ‘Civil Division AGM Nomination’ on the envelope.  The nomination forms can be downloaded at the HKIE website:  Enquiries: Ir Michael FONG Hok Shing at 9324 7248 or email:



* Please fill out this form completely